Wake Up! Combined Sedans confirm bumper grid

WAKE UP! Combined Sedans return to Mount Panorama in 2020, their sixth consecutive year as a support category to the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour. 

In 2020 the category will be supported by Wake Up! Hostels, who offer holiday accommodation in Sydney CBD, Bondi Beach and Byron Bay, including bars, restaurants and cafes.

A full grid of 55 cars is set to race, including top level spaceframe and chassis Sports Sedans, racing up against the genuine V8 Touring Cars of past eras and the TA2 machines, all vying for the top honours.

Among the entries this year there are three young guns including reigning V8 Touring Cars / Super 3 series champion Broc Feeney (17), who will race in his ex-Supercar Ford Falcon in a bid to gain Bathurst miles. Bayley Hall (16) will race in the spaceframe class while Nathan Herne (17) will be behind the wheel of a TA2 racer.

The question is will experience over youth see some of the categories more mature drivers take out the honors, with more than half the competitors in the field older than the three boys ages added together and with many laps around Mount Panorama under their belts, its sure to be busy at the pointy end of the field.

This year the grid will include four MARC Cars, to be driven by Jason Busk, Tony Groves, Bradley Neill and Bayley Hall – which are sure to be up the front. All will compete in the spaceframe class, challenging the likes of Paul Boschert and Mick Bullis in their lighting fast 6 litre Chev Corvettes and Steven Lacey in his 2019 NSW Sports Sedan Championship winning Camaro – the very same car that holds the Sports Sedan lap record at Mount Panorama.

Steven, who is also the joint Category Manager with his wife Bronwyn, said: “Competition within the four Classes within Combined Sedans gets stronger every year as the quality of competitors and their vehicles continues to grow.

“For the first time the Chassis class will be split into three sub-classes, based on qualifying lap times, in order to give all competitors a chance to take home a trophy.”

All up the field includes, six V8 Touring Cars, seven TA2, nine Spaceframe Sports Sedans and Thirty-three Chassis cars, ranging from a HQ Holden and L34 Torana, through to a BMW M2 and Mercedes C63 AMG.

The variety of on-track machinery is what brings the spectators to the fence and this year’s the Combined Sedan races will be televised live Saturday on Fox Sports on Foxtel and Kayo.

Steven went on to say: “It’s with the support of the team at Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour as the event promoter and Motorsport Australia that the Australian Sports Sedan Association of NSW is able to give drivers from vastly different classes the experience of a life time, racing at Mount Panorama, Bathurst.”

WAKE UP! Combined Sedans entry list

Car # Sponsors Driver First Name Driver Surname State Class Make/Model
1 Real Dairy Australia/Lederer Shopping Centres Steven Lacey NSW Spaceframe Chev Camaro
11 Legacy Scott Cameron NSW Spaceframe Holden Commodore
28 Hall Finance & Insurance Solutions Bayley Hall QLD Spaceframe Marc Focus V8
58 Duggan Family Hotels Mark Duggan NSW Spaceframe Aston Martin DB9
80 Mornington Mazda Tony Groves VIC Spaceframe Marc Mazda V8
94 Herron Todd White Valuers Bradley Neill QLD Spaceframe Marc Mazda V8
192 GJ Motorsport Jason Busk QLD Spaceframe Marc Focus V8
427 Weldcraft Engineering/ Summernats Paul Boschert ACT Spaceframe Chev Corvette
525 T Light Hire Mick Bullis NSW Spaceframe Chev Corvette
2 Kobelco Motorsports Steve Coulter NSW TA2 TA2 Ford Mustang
4 Crutcher Developments Mark Crutcher NSW TA2 TA2 Dodge Challenger
10 Morgans Investments Peter Robinson QLD TA2 TA2 Dodge Challenger
29 Gulf Western Oils/Hernes Freight Service/NCPT Nathan Herne NSW TA2 TA2 Dodge Challenger
33 Natcorp Racing Chris La Rosa NSW TA2 TA2 Ford Mustang
49 Allgate Auto Doors Christopher Formosa NSW TA2 TA2 Dodge Challenger
177 Alkira ELC/Elite Smash Repairs Erina William Robinson NSW TA2 TA2 Ford Mustang
7 Mocomm Motorsports Communications Jim Pollicina NSW V8 Touring Holden VE Commodore
43 R & R Earthmoving Stephen Rushton QLD V8 Touring Ford Falcon
56 Coe Property Group Stephen Coe QLD V8 Touring Holden VE Commodore
67 Paul Feeney Group/Norwell Motorplex Broc Feeney QLD V8 Touring Ford FG Falcon
88 Wake Up Hostels Warren Millett NSW V8 Touring Holden VZ Commodore
96 Collins Racing Team Gary Collins VIC V8 Touring Holden VE Commodore
14 Atlantic Oil/MM Auto Electrics/Pitstop Auto/East Kurrajong Eng Terry Mayfield NSW Chassis Holden HQ
15 Motorsport Sales.com.au Chris Begg QLD Chassis BMW E46
17 Cable Source/Truckphones.com.au Brent Edwards VIC Chassis Ford Falcon
19 Twin City Roller Doors Mark Tracey NSW Chassis BMW E36
21 GC Electrical/ProCut/No Fear/Powerhouse Luke Grech-Cumbo VIC Chassis HSV Senator
23 Nulon Raymond Hislop TAS Chassis Ford BF Falcon
25 SPAE/ LJ Hooker Caboolture Steve Hay QLD Chassis Holden VK Commodore
26 The Groove Train Greensborough Vin Stenta VIC Chassis Nissan Skyline R32 GTR
27 Cowley Security Ian Cowley VIC Chassis Holden VE Commodore
35 Ric Shaw Racing Ric Shaw NSW Chassis Mazda RX7
39 Noosa Laser Clinic Racing Grant Elliott QLD Chassis BMW E36 M3
40 MotorsportSales.com.au Karl Begg QLD Chassis BMW M2
41 Encat Pedestrian Fencing John Ford NSW Chassis Nissan Skyline R32 GTR
44 Jasmat Steel Fabrications Matt Cherry WA Chassis Holden Monaro
47 Beer R Us/Kurtles Customs Andrew McMaster NSW Chassis BMW E30
51 Winmalee Car Care Willem Fercher NSW Chassis Holden Monaro
57 Hire Express Ed Kreamer NSW Chassis Mitsubishi Evo 9
60 Stillwell Famiily Racing Michael Stillwell VIC Chassis Ford Mustang S197
65 Jasmat Steel Fabrications Glen Melling WA Chassis Holden VF Commodore
77 PB Racing Repairs Anthony Barton NSW Chassis Nissan 300ZX
89 RM Motorsport Rod Moynahan NSW Chassis Holden VE Commodore
90 Motorsport Sales.com.au Justin Anthony QLD Chassis Mercedes C63AMG
91 Stephen Baker Stephen Baker VIC Chassis Nissan GTR N1
95 East Kurrajong Engineering Graham Smith NSW Chassis Holden VE Commodore
111 Access Homes Australia Michael King NSW Chassis Mitsubishi Evo 8
114 Howe Automotive Bill Savige VIC Chassis Holden L34 Torana
125 Queanbeyan Diesel Service David Worrell NSW Chassis Holden VH Commodore
133 Tyrepower Blayney Phillip Ryan NSW Chassis Nissan 280zx
135 Douglas Property Group Warwick Douglas QLD Chassis BMW E46
168 BYP Racing & Development Stephen Wan NSW Chassis Honda Civic
243 Pitstop Tyre Service Centre Peter Byrnes NSW Chassis Holden Monaro
376 Turbo Charlie Plant Hire Charles Spiteri NSW Chassis Mitsubishi Evo 8
696 Autosport Engineering Greg Boyle NSW Chassis Nissan Silvia


Category Release