SUPPORTS: Improved Production Challenge

EIGHT TIMES in a row Improved Production has been an important class on the support program to the Bathurst 12 Hour and 2017 will be no different.

The popular category will be again (for the fifth time) have Donut King as the naming rights partner, along with support from Yokohama and Bilstein and has more entries than available grid spaces.

The 58‐strong entry list is headed in the Over Two Litre class by five‐time Nationals winner and current number one plate holder, Tasmanian Ray Hislop and his Ford Falcon BF V8. The combination has had half a dozen dominant race wins on the mountain, but by the same token Hislop has suffered mechanical issues and two crashes that have denied him several more victories.

On those occasions South Australian Tony Wallis (Mazda 808), Victorian Ben Schoots and Queenslander Simon O’Dell‐Fontana (Mazda RX7s), Victorian Ric Newman (Falcon V8) and Anthony Loscialpo (Holden Commodore) from NSW have taken the honours.

In 2015 it was the West Australian Matt Cherry who took both wins, taking his Holden Monaro from 27th place to victory in race one and then pipping category stalwart Leigh Forrest by just 0.06secs in the second outing.

Cherry backed up to take overall honours last year after race one winner and tearaway leader Hislop tangled with a lap car in the second outing. Hislop had just set a stunning new IP lap record of 2 minutes 20.1080 seconds which would have put him fourth on the grid for Combined Sedans featuring far more modified Sports Sedans and V8 Touring Cars.

Forrest also from Tasmania, has won twice previously in his Toyota Celica Turbo and has finished second on seven occasions. He will again throw out the challenge along with Cherry and fellow West Aussie Kerry Wade (BMW E30.

Queensland is well represented with the likes of Daniel Cliff (Holden Commodore), Justin Wade (BMW E90), Beric Lynton, Tony Alford (BMW 1Ms) and Kyle Alford (Audi TT RS), and some quick Victorians are on the way including Damien Milano and Scott Wilson (Holden Commodores), and Robert Braune and Phil Showers in their BMWs.

Competitors are coming from far and wide and include Barry Smith (Holden Commodore) and John Newman from the Northern Territory, and also South Australians Michael Naguib (Datsun 1600 Turbo), Craig Manuel (Mazda 808) and Roger Vanderkamp (Ford Falcon XY GT).

The home state will be well represented with Peter and Matt Ingram (Mazda RX7s), Michael King (Mitsubishi EVO 8) and Brian Anderson (BMW E46 M3) among many wanting a NSW victory.

The Under Two Litre class should also be hotly contested with the fastest cars likely to sneak into the top ten overall. NSW’s Scott Hunter (Corolla) and Jordan Cox and Graham Bohm in their Honda Integra are the picks of the ones to watch.

The Donut King Improved Production Bathurst Challenge cars are scheduled to hit the track for the first time on Friday, February 3 at 10:45am for a practice/qualifying session before race one at 3.25pm over ten laps. There will be two further races on Saturday, February 4 at 10:00am and 3:00pm.



Entrant Driver Car CC
2 Hislop Motorsport Ray Hislop (TAS) Ford Falcon BF 6000
4 Tasmanian Engine Reconditioning Leigh Forrest (TAS) Toyota Celica 3400T
5 Northern BM Phillip Showers (VIC) BMW M3 3200
6 Seat Bibz Steven Jukes (QLD) BMW M3 3246
7 Midas Tingalpa Justin Wade (QLD) BMW E90 M3 4000
8 Elite Balancing Damien Milano (VIC) Holden Commodore VY 6000
9 Allford Wreakers /WPS Racing Wyane Alway (VIC) Mazda RX7 2354
11 Racing Dynamics Kerry Wade (WA) BMW E30 2990
12 Guru Engineering Ashley Barnett (WA) Holden Commodore 6000
14 JLART Joseph Lenthall (NSW) Mazda RX7 2354
16 Southern Home Improvements Michael Naguib (SA) Datsun 1600 3400
19 WDT Asset Management Wayne Twist (VIC) BMW E46 3200
23 OZ Publishing Matthew Ingram (NSW) Mazda RX7 2354
24 Harris HMC/Northern BM Brad Blunt (VIC) BMW E36 M3 3200
25 Targa Racing Brian Anderson (NSW) BMW E46 M3 3246
26 Alkira Homes and AH Racing Michael King (NSW) Mitsubishi Evo 8 3394
28 Bullas Building Consultants David Cocks (VIC) Holden Commodore VK 6000
30 Laurie Ogle Motors Grant Ogle (VIC) Ford Focus XR5 2521
32 Aussie Play Peter Ingram (NSW) Mazda RX7 2354
33 Australian Outdoor Living Jamie Weir (SA) Datsun Stanza 3400
38 Audvolks/Aquatap Plumbing Adrain Taranto (VIC) Audi S3 3200
41 Boost Automotive Scott Willing (VIC) Subaru Impreza STi 3400
43 South Coast Marine Robert Vanderkamp (SA) Ford Falcon XY GT 5800
44 Top Gear Electrical Matt Cherry (WA) Holden Monaro 6000
47 My Ref Number is 1247 Craig Manuel (SA) Mazda 808 2400
49 Tamex Transport Bruce Worgan (NSW) Holden Commodore VS 5700
51 Wilson Homes/1 2 3 Plumbing Scott Wilson (VIC) Holden Commodore VP 6000
54 Donut King Tony Alford (QLD) BMW 1M 5700
55 Donut King Kyle Alford (QLD) Audi TTRS 4800
59 Epilepsy Foundation Andrew Butcher (VIC) BMW E36 M3 3200
60 Professional Traffic Solutions Bob Brewer (NSW) Holden Commodore VZ 6000
63 GP Automotive Gary McKay (VIC) Holden Torana 3300
64 JKL Construction John Angioella (VIC) BMW E36 3200
65 CS Racing Chris Spiteri (VIC) Holden Commodore 5670
73 Manchester Arms Hotel Graham McPherson (VIC) Holden Commodore VE 6000
74 Classic Speed Shop/Riddo’s Run Dan Ridley (NSW) Holden Commodore VK 5670
76 Cleanup Skip Bins Brett Batterby (QLD) BMW E36 2979
86 Braune Supa Tune Robert Braune (VIC) BMW E30 2840
87 Darwin Auto Mobile care Barry Smith (NT) Holden Commodore VP 5700
89 Multidrive Parts David Rodgers (QLD) Ford Falcon BA GT 5400
93 Boxretoul Aust. Shop Fitting/ Nathan Robinson (VIC) BMW E36 M3 3200
94 JP Pallets Jason Wilson (WA) Holden Commodore VY 6000
95 Vari Race Brakes Taylor Hurford (QLD) BME E36 3200
112 Grand Auto Wreakers Anthony Norris (SA) Datsun 1200 3400
123 Lynton BMW Beric Lynton (QLD) BMW 1M 5097
132 Bridgestone Select Glenelg Phillip Andrawos (SA) BMW E36 3200
144 Nolan Professional Painting Daniel Clift (QLD) Holden Commodore 5700
147 Beers R US, New Era Autos Andrew McMaster (NSW) BMW E30 2996



Entrant Driver Car CC
3 Cox Motorsport/ Bilstein Racing Jordon Cox (NSW) Honda Civic 2000
17 Performance Thumpers Mark Hyde (QLD) Ford Escort 1993
21 Phillip Hunter Smash Repairs Scott Hunter (NSW) Toyota Corolla AE82 2000
61 West Coast Smash Repair Geoff Duckworth (WA) Mitsubishi Mirage 1597
70 Vantage Automotive Ian Price (NSW) Ford Escort 1998
77 Aussie Stop Leak/ EFI Spares Richard Mork (NSW) Honda Integra 1898
88 Scott Dean (QLD) Toyota Yaris 1900
130 Graham Bohm Graham Bohm (NSW) Honda Civic 1998
176 Aesthetic Building Facades William Harris (NSW) Suzuki Swift GTi 1298
177 Rapid Resources John Newman (NT) Toyota Corolla KE35 1998