Superstar Internationals and Aussies complete Audi B12hr squad

SIX star drivers from Australia and abroad will join the Audi Sport fleet following confirmation of the German marque’s full LIQUI MOLY Bathurst 12 Hour campaign this year. 

Factory Audi drivers Nathanaël Berthon, Ricardo Feller, Kelvin van der Linde and Markus Winkelhock will join the pair of Audi Sport Team Valvoline entries steered by Brad Schumacher and Yasser Shahin.

Meanwhile, Supercars stars David Reynolds and Cameron Waters will drive alongside experienced local racer Tony Bates in his R8 entry.

It completes Audi’s seven-strong attack on securing a record-breaking fourth victory in Australia’s International Enduro.

“In 2011, we were a pioneer at the Bathurst 12 Hour as the first GT3 entrant,” says Chris Reinke, Head of Audi Sport customer racing.

“In the meantime, many international brands have followed us and thus contributed to the event’s rise to one of the world’s most important GT3 endurance races. With three victories at Bathurst, Audi is the most successful manufacturer in the GT3 era.

“Now, against the backdrop of Pro-Am regulations, we’re facing a new challenge just like our rivals.”

Bathurstian Schumacher will be joined in car 74 by Nathanaël Berthon, a Bathurst 12 Hour rookie, and the experienced Kelvin van der Linde.

32-year-old Frenchman Berthon currently races for Audi in the FIA World Touring Car Cup among his lengthy racing CV, which includes five top six finishes in the Le Mans 24 Hour race.

Van der Linde is a Bathurst 12-hour regular and set the fastest lap for Audi in the closing stages of the 2020 race.

The South African star is a staple of Audi’s global German Sports Car programs and finished third for the brand in the 2021 DTM title. He’ll make his third Bathurst 12 Hour start this year.

Current GT World Challenge Australia champion Shahin will be joined by Ricardo Feller and Markus Winkelhock in his #777 entry.

Feller, who is just 21, hails from Switzerland however has forged a remarkable career as a GT professional despite his young age.

He is the current Silver class GT World Challenge Europe Endurance Cup champion, won the 2021 ADAC GT Masters series and joined ABT Sportline to contest the 2022 DTM season in an Audi R8 LMS.

Winkelhock will make his eighth 12-Hour start this year and is now one of the most experienced international drivers to have ever tackled the race.

Alongside his lengthy GT racing CV, the son of racing great Manfred Winkelhock finished second in the 2015 12-Hour , 4th in 2016 and 6th in 2014.

Supercars stars Reynolds and Waters will team with Tony Bates in his #24 entry. While Waters will make just his second 12-hour start, 2022 will represent Reynolds’ seventh attempt in a bid to add the 12-Hour crown to his Bathurst 1000 trophy.

The three combinations confirmed today add to the existing cars already announced, which will see Chaz Mostert team up with Liam Talbot and Fraser Ross, Marc Cini team with Lee Holdsworth and Dean Fiore and brothers James & Theo Koundouris share their R8 with David Russell and Paul Stokell.

A seventh Audi R8, entered by Adelaide-based Team BRM, will see Mark Rosser drive with Nick Percat and Joey Mawson.

The 2022 LIQUI MOLY Bathurst 12 Hour will take place between May 13-15 and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports, Kayo Sports and the Seven Network around Australia, plus international live streaming for overseas audiences.