Class poles decided in opening qualifying

THE class pole positions have been decided for tomorrow’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour in a rapid 45-minute opening qualifying session at Mount Panorama.

Grove Racing’s #4 Porsche GT3 Cup of Stephen Grove, Brenton Grove and Ben Barker have taken out the Class B pole position after Barker lapped the 6.2km circuit in a 2:08.071.

The British driver set the flier early on in the session to hand the squad the class pole by just over a second over the #23 Team Carrera Cup Asia Porsche of Paul Tresidder, Chris van der Drift, Andrew Tang and Evan Chen.

JFC – Carter Grange’s #21 car of Daniel Stutterd, Sam Fillmore and Andrew Fawcet picked up third in class with a 2:11.732.

Boat Works Racing took out the pole position in Class C after Aaron Seton set a fast lap early on in the #30 BMW M4 GT4 of Tony Longhurst, Matt Brabham and himself, while Team SRM’s #44 BMW M4 GT4 finished second quickest in the class.

MARC Cars Australia took out the Invitational Class pole position with the #91 MARC II V8 of Keith Kassulke, Rod Salmon and Will Brown with a lap time of 2:06.118.

Meanwhile, the #100 BMW Team SRM M6 GT3 of Steven Richards, Philipp Eng and Timo Glock was fastest in Class A.

Click here for full session results.

By: Slade Perrins.