Campbell claims Daytona 24 Hour victory

LIQUI MOLY Bathurst 12 Hour winner Matt Campbell has claimed a dramatic victory in the Rolex 24 at Daytona in an all-Porsche thriller finish to the GT Daytona class. 

Campbell was part of the Pfaff Motorsports crew that included Mathieu Jaminet and Felipe Nasr to win after a final-lap battle with the KCMG Racing Porsche, driven by fellow 12-Hour hero Laurens Vanthoor.

With Jaminet behind the wheel, the Pfaff Motorsport entry and Vanthoor came to blows at the famous Le Mans Chicane (renamed from the Bus stop this year) on the final lap of the race, as the KCMG Porsche tried to outbreak his rival on the outside.

The contact saw Vanthoor spin out of contention while Jaminet was able to proceed without significant delay.

Campbell’s team completed 711 laps of the Daytona road course and claimed the GTD Pro class victory by just 2.1 seconds ahead of a Risi Competizione Ferrari.

The KCMG Porsche ultimately finished third in the GTD Pro Class.

The result capped off a remarkable race for Porsche, one that saw them also win the GT Daytona class as well – the first time a single brand has won both GT categories since the merger of the various United States-based Sports Car categories in 2014.

It was Campbell’s first Daytona 24-Hour victory, adding to his existing class or outright wins at the Le Mans 24 Hour, Dubai 24 Hour, Sebring 12 Hour and the 2019 LIQUI MOLY Bathurst 12 Hour.

The around-the-clock race in Florida was won by Meyer Shank Racing’s Acura DPi, driven by Oliver Jarvis, Tom Blomqvist, Helio Castroneves and Simon Pageneaud.

Tickets are now on sale for the 2022 LIQUI MOLY Bathurst 12 Hour, with Trackside tickets, Grandstand seats and VIP Parking available online now.

Camping sales will be available soon.

Australia’s International Enduro will commence the 2022 Intercontinental GT Challenge powered by Pirelli schedule, to be followed by the Spa 24 Hours, the Indianapolis 8 Hour and the season-ending Kyalami 9 Hours in South Africa.