Bathurst history for Webb and TEKNO

JONATHON WEBB and his TEKNO Autosports team have created Bathurst history in today’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, Webb becoming the first driver and TEKNO the first team to win both the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour and the October 1000km enduro in the same year.

In a remarkable race once again decided in the final corner, Webb’s TEKNO Autosport co-driver Will Davison held out Shane van Gisbergen’s Red Bull Racing Commodore in a thrilling and controversial finish.

The duel for the victory was actually battled out between second and third on the road, Jamie Whincup penalised 15 seconds for earlier contact with Scott McLaughlin – an incident that would ultimately set up the thrilling race to the line.

Van Gisbergen – who partnered Webb and Alvaro Parente to the 12 Hour win this year driving a TEKNO Autosports McLaren 650 GT3 – tried and tried again but ultimately couldn’t pass Davison in the final laps, with LDMs Nick Percat and Cameron McConville finishing a shock third.

The 0.15 seconds between the pair is the closest finish ever in the history of the Bathurst 1000 and Webb was naturally ecstatic on completing the ‘Bathurst double’ for the first time.

“Its amazing, it really is,” Webb said. “There was heartache in (20)14 and this year I was hanging out the back of the garage trying to ignore what going on.

“Twice in one year, who would have thought! I was trying to stay calm cool and collected but inside I was going crazy.

“It’s pretty cool. we joked about it after we won the 12 hour and said ‘hey, how about we go and win the 1000 now!’ but at the time it was a bit of a joke!

“We’ve done them both and the trophies will sit proudly next to each other in the trophy cabinet back at work.”

“Being a driver is still something I want to do and something I enjoy. To come out here as a driver and a team owner and win both events this year is pretty awesome.”

The 2017 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour will be held between February 3-5 with tickets currently on sale now via Ticketek.