Bathurst Combined Sedans grid set for 12-Hour return

Bathurst Combined Sedans returns to Mount Panorama for the 2022 LIQUI MOLY Bathurst 12 Hour, with its last appearance being in February 2020, all thanks to NSW Sports Sedans.

This year there’s a new sponsor – Duggan Family Hotels. This business is headed up by a die-hard racer, Mark Duggan, who is a regular Sports Sedan driver in his spaceframe Aston Martin. This year however, Mark will be driving an ex Kelly Racing Supercar Commodore in the event.

Mark will have some stiff competition in the V8 Touring Car class this year, with current Tier 1 Supercar driver, Jack Le Brocq jumping onboard the Warren Millet owned ex Tekno Supercar Commodore.

In all there will be five ex Supercars in the field, including current Super3 competitor, Jarred Danaher.

The 750+ HP spaceframe Sports Sedan monsters also return, with the 2020 Bathurst Combined Sedan Champion, Paul Boschert returning in his, not so little, red Corvette.

The Sports Sedan teams have been busy in recent months and so Paul is expected to have strong competition from the likes of Brad Shiels, the current NSW Sports Sedan Champion in the Joe Said, Fiat 124 Coupe and the yellow Camaros of Lacey & Cetin, who between them have won six NSW State Championships. Bathurst local Stuart Inwood in his Corvette will also be there to keep the visitors honest.

The field has a further 30 chassis-based Sports Sedan and Production cars racing in three sub classes, giving plenty of opportunity for competitors to take home a trophy.

Contenders in the outright Chassis class, will include Steve Hay, in his Big Banger VK Commodore, Phillip Ryan in his Nissan 280zx and Michael King in his Evo 8, who finished in that respective order in 2020.

They won’t have it all their own way though, with the new build by Willem Fercher, a Toyota 86, power by a thumping V8, likely to shake things up at the pointy end. Add in current TCR contender Jordan Cox in his crazily fast Suzuki Swift GTi and Greg Boyle in the four wheel drive Nissan GTR R32 and you have the makings of an extremely competitive field of very diverse cars racing for the honours of fastest Chassis car.

Category managers Steven & Bronwyn Lacey of Ripplestrip Motorsport said: “whilst the field is a little smaller than in past years, the quality of the field more than makes up for the few cars we are short.”

Be sure to catch all the action over Friday & Saturday, with qualifying and three races to determine the 2022 Duggan Family Hotels Bathurst Combined Sedans Champion.

Car # Sponsors Name Driver First Name Driver Surname Make Model Capacity (cc’s) Class
1 J.S.Racing / Tony Long Fiberglassing Brad Shiels Fiat 124 Coupe 3892 Spaceframe
4 MRA Roofing & Construction Darren Currie MARC Mazda 4957 Spaceframe
27 PRO iT/ Billy’s Motorsport Birol Cetin Chevrolet Camaro 6000 Spaceframe
51 Inwood Racing Stuart Inwood Corvette C5 5998 Spaceframe
63 Auto Belt Man Sam Taylor Rover Vitesse 5700 Spaceframe
78 Real Dairy Aust/ Lederer Group Steven Lacey Chevrolet Camaro 5860 Spaceframe
111 111 Racing/ Axles Earthmoving & Civil Works Grant Donaldson MARC Focus 4957 Spaceframe
121 Pro Motorsport Glenn Pro Toyota Supra 3500T Spaceframe
427 Weldcraft Motorsport Paul Boschert Chevrolet Corvette 6000 Spaceframe
11 Nash Painting Services Allen Nash Holden VE Commodore 4999 V8 Touring Car
18 Wake Up Hotels/ The Lord Byron Jack Le Brocq Holden VE Commodore 4992 V8 Touring Car
46 Turbo Brisbane Jarred Danaher Ford Falcon FG 5000 V8 Touring Car
56 Coe Property Group Stephen Coe Holden VF Commodore 5000 V8 Touring Car
58 Duggan Family Hotels Mark Duggan Holden Commodore 4992 V8 Touring Car
2 Tyrepower Blayney Phillip Ryan Nissan 280ZX 6000 Chassis
5 Winmalee Car Care Willem Fercher Toyota 86 6000 Chassis
19 Twin City Roller Doors/ Auto Openers Mark Tracey BMW E36 6000 Chassis
25 LJ Hooker Caboolture Stephen Hay Holden VK Commodore 6000 Chassis
30 Carldenn Wines Ryan Humfrey Ford XE Falcon 6000 Chassis
31 Secure Wealth Advisers Simon Hodges BMW M4 3000T Chassis
33 Pitcher Partners/ Encat/ MTA NSW Jordan Cox Suzuki Swift Gti 1600 Chassis
36 Sydney Cove Property/ Lansvale Smash Repairs Steven Engel Mitsubishi Evo 7 1997 Chassis
39 Noosa Laser Clinic Grant Elliott BMW E36 V8 5998 Chassis
44 Geissler Racing Fred Geissler BMW M3 E36 3200 Chassis
57 Hire Express Ed Kreamer Mitsubishi Evo IX 2000 Chassis
59 Epilepsy Foundation Andrew Butcher BMW M3 3246 Chassis
65 Cavanagh Electrics Matthew Holt HSV Clubsport R8 6200 Chassis
67 Antinol Steve Burridge BMW F80 M3 3000 Chassis
74 Exclusive Switchboards Bill Harris Holden VP Commodore 4340 Chassis
75 Exclusive Switchboards Brad Harris Suzuki Swift GTi 1298 Chassis
76 Exclusive Switchboards William Harris Mazda RX8 2354 Chassis
83 Guardian Protection Services Arthur Tsovolos Holden Commodore 5400 Chassis
86 Haltech Richard Mork Toyota 86 1998 Chassis
88 GCHP Scott Dean Mercedes A45 2000 Chassis
89 RDS – Real Estate & Development Solutions Rod Moynahan Holden VE Commodore SS 5967 Chassis
91 GT Racing Stephen Baker Nissan R32 GTR – N1 4400 Chassis
92 Allworth Homes Stephen Thompson Mitsubishi Evo IX 2000 Chassis
95 East Kurrajong Engineering Graham Smith Holden VE Commodore 6000 Chassis
118 Cable Source Brent Edwards Ford Falcon 4000 Chassis
135 Warwick Douglas Constructions Warwick Douglas BMW E46 3200 Chassis
158 Aligntech Automotive David Paine Holden VY GTS 6000 Chassis
195 Rover Coaches/ MOB Engines Matthew O’Brien Holden Commodore 5000 Chassis
260 Kingly Projects/ Access Homes/ Platinum Property Michael King Mitsubishi Evo 8 RS 1997 Chassis
696 Autosport Engineering/ Atlantic Oils/ Track Day Club/ DBA Gregory Boyle Nissan GTR R32 2568 Chassis